Chanel 19 Poudre (Jacques Polge) 2011

 

Chanel 19 Poudre by Jacques Polge (2011)

 

I’m not quite sure why it took me so long to come around to Chanel 19 Poudre. Honestly, I’m a real Chanel fanboy, so how did this one slip through the cracks? Possibly the divisive reviews describing a total “powder bomb” or “too green”. People either love it or hate it, not much middle ground. Whatever the reason, I’m awfully happy to posses a bottle now. I mean it’s Chanel right? How mundane could it be?

Notes include:
Mandarin, neroli, iris, jasmine, galbanum, vetiver, musk, and tonka bean.
Ok. Just to get this out of the way… I FREAKING LOVE IT RIGHT DOWN TO MY BITTER OLD HEART! I mean, Iris?❤️ Galbanum?❤️ Jasmine & vetiver?❤️ Come to papa you naughty thing!

My favorite description is that 19 Poudre is “Much nicer than her bitchy stepsister, No19….!” as aptly put the fellow perfumista who supplied the bottle. And she’s right! To me 19 always felt like being bitch-slapped right across the face, whereas Poudre is more a nudge to get you out of the way. Many ubër-green scents tend to give me a splitting headache, so it’s great to find one that wears so well.

Yes, there’s the powdery iris/orris thing going on, but on me it’s soft, like looking through a gauze curtain. Perceptible, vague, but present. It envelopes you but doesn’t jar. At the top there’s a hit of citrus and caramel, which is likely the tonka mixing with the musk. Gorgeous. All supported by the green-ish slightly bitter galbanum which in turn perfectly compliments and supports the woody, refreshing vetiver. But not TOO bitter, and not TOO green. Just right, actually.

Unisex? Yes absolutely, but then I don’t tend to worry about gender classifications for perfume. I wear what I love.

And I love this, yes I do!

Leave a Reply

